Director Jos Stelling receives Career Award at sold-out Shortcutz Amsterdam Annual Awards

Peter Greenaway, Ariane Schluter, Eddy Terstall among guests presenting awards  

(AMSTERDAM) Director Jos Stelling (The Girl and Death; Duska) is this year’s recipient of Shortcutz Amsterdam Career Award which honours a Dutch filmmaker whose work has contributed to the prestige of Dutch cinema at home and abroad.

The award will be presented by producer Marc van Warmerdam (Borgman; Waiter) at EYE on Sunday 18 January during Shortcutz Amsterdam Annual Awards. Tickets for the event taking place at Cinema 1 have sold out, but last minute tickets will be made available on the day at 19:00.

Other guests present who are introducing awards include British director Peter Greenaway (The Cook, The Thief,  His Wife & Her Lover, Drowning by Numbers), director Martin Koolhoven (War in Wintertime), actor Pierre Bokma (Cloaca), actress Ariane Schluter (Accused/Lucia de B.), animator Paul Driessen (Yellow Submarine), director Roel Reine (Michiel de Ruyter), director Eddy Terstall (Simon),  director Esther Rots (Can Go Through Skin),  cinematographer Guido van Gennep (Süskind) and director Ramón Gieling (En Un Momento Dado).

All of them will share inspiring words with the new generation of Dutch filmmakers in the room.

The event recognizes the best of Dutch short film, granting prizes in 10 categories: Best Director, Best Documentary, Best Animation, Best Experimental, Best Screenplay, Best Director of Photography, Best Post-Production, Best Actor, Best Actress and Best Film. The latter receives a prize worth €15,000 into the making of a new film.  It’s an equal contribution by Shorts TV, Cam-a-lot and Filmmore.

The winning short films in the categories of best film, best animation, best documentary and best experimental will be screened in its entirety.

All the nominees took part in the 2014 competition of Shortcutz Amsterdam, which screens short films every week with Q&As with the respective film directors. The free sessions aim to promote new Dutch film talent, bring together beginning and established filmmakers and connect the filmmakers with their audience.

The winners of each category are chosen by a jury made up of actor Tygo Gernandt, actress Hanna Verboom, director Mijke de Jong, producer Jeroen Koolbergen, actor Vincent van Ommen, producer Harmen Jalvingh, EU1 founder Marko van Kampen, Mediamatic co-founder Jans Possel, EYE film-programmer René Wolf, and street-artist Laser 3.14,

The evening will also honour late director George Sluizer, who passed away last September. Sluizer, who received the Shortcutz Amsterdam Career Award in 2014, was also a jury member of Shortcutz Amsterdam and a devoted supporter of new Dutch film talent.



Geef een antwoord

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *

Deze site gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial