Tagarchief: nobu

‘School’s Out’ big winner and ‘Crows Nest” wins three awards at the 7th Shortcutz Amsterdam Annual Awards

The 1st Rutger Hauer Award was awarded to Paul Verhoeven. Quite emotionally, Monique van den Ven received this award from the hands of Ineke Hauer-ten Cate at a sold-out room at EYE.

(AMSTERDAM) The 7th edition of Shortcutz Amsterdam Annual Awards was an emotional one. 

The ceremony started remembering our late ambassador Rutger Hauer. Rutger’s wife Ineke Hauer-ten Cate delivered the award to Paul Verhoeven represented by Monique van de Ven. We’ve remembered Rutger Hauer’s work and life and the bond that ties Rutger and Paul together professionally and personally. 

The most awarded film of the evening was ‘School’s Out.’ The crew left EYE with four Mr Zee statuettes for Best Film, Audience Award, Best Actress (Raymonde de Kuyper) and Best Script (Renske de Greef).

The film ‘Crows Nest’ won three Mr Zee awards: Mr Zee Best Director (Flynn von Kleist), Best Actor (Yfendo van Praag) and Best Cinematography (Tim Kerbosch).

Other winners

At First Sight’ by Sjaak Rood won the Mr Zee award for Best Animation.  

The winner for Mr Zee Best Documentary went to ‘Tribe Of Ghosts’ directed by Almicheal Fraay. 

The documentary ‘Nobu’ took home the award for Best Editing. 

Orbit’ by Tess Martin won the Mr Zee award for Best Experimental Film.

The ceremony was hosted by film journalist René Mioch and Shortcutz Amsterdam co-founder Alexa Rodrigues. They introduced prestigious speakers throughout the evening, including the executive producer of ‘The King’s Speech’ Mark Foligno, ‘Bad Boys for Life’ directors Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah, actress Romana Vrede, Penoza’s director Diederik van Rooijen, actress Melody Klaver (Rafael) among many others.

The evening came to a close with actor Nizar el Manouzi as the evening’s DJ at the EYE café.

Full list of winners below:

Mr Zee Best Film: SCHOOL’S OUT (Jamille van Wijngaarden)

Mr Zee Best Director: Flynn von Kleist for CROWS NEST

Mr Zee Best Screenplay: Renske de Greef for SCHOOL’S OUT

Mr Zee Best Actress: Raymonde de Kuyper for SCHOOL’S OUT 

Mr Zee Best Actor: Yfendo van Praag for CROWS NEST 

Mr Zee Best Experimental: ORBIT, directed by Tess Martin

Mr Zee Best Editing: Fatih Tura, Joshua Menco, Tom Oud for NOBU

Mr Zee Best Documentary: TRIBE OF GHOSTS, directed by Almicheal Fraay

Mr Zee Best Cinematography: Tim Kerbosch for CROWS NEST

Mr Zee Best Animation: AT FIRST SIGHT, directed by Sjaak Rood